About Philip

Hello.

I was born in Hollywood, California in 1981. After graduating from high school in 1999, I spent the next eleven years in an out of community college. During that time, I held jobs as a tutor, magazine editor, and freelance writer and was an intern at British Vogue in London. I finished my undergraduate degree at Humboldt State University in 2012. Following that, I earned MFA in Fiction from San Francisco State University in 2017. In the following years, I published my first chapbook The Flowers in my Mothers' Name, from Nomadic Press. (Click the image below to purchase.) and then my second, entitled Rocks, in 2018. For a copy of Rocks, please contact Alley Cat Books in San Francisco, California. You may also reach out to me, via this website, if you'd like an autographed copy. My writing explores the many facets of my life: sexuality, biracial-ism, pop culture, fashion, media, art, and much more. Currently working on my first novel, I live in the Bay Area with my partner, where, as ever, he and I continue our search for the perfect burrito.

Please don't be shy; do say hello. :)